Rethink Your Education

My favorite part of the TED video was the eight TLC’s that he described. Each one of us needs to monitor and work on our: exercise, diet and nutrition, time in nature, contributions and service, relationships, recreation, relation and stress management, and religious and spirituality. These eight things all play a major factor in how healthy and happy we are.

Sadly, in our K-12 educational system, we are failing students in helping them learn and develop those eight areas. I’m not saying reading, science and math are not important, I simply believe that we should place just as much emphasis on those eight areas. As a future Health and Physical Educator, I can more easily address all of the areas compared to the rest of the classroom teachers. As a PE educator, it will be my main duty to make sure they are healthy and fit.

However, if I wasn’t to address their happiness, then I actually am neglecting the student’s current and future health. If a student is happy, they are more likely to take care of themselves. If they are unhappy, they aren’t going to want to be healthy or want to do anything. When individuals fall into depression, their bodies can quickly suffer. Teaching children early how and why they need to do so is extremely important. For example, they would exercise more, watch their diet, and/or spending more time with recreational sports. All three of those are the main focuses of PE. Now if I added in the rest of the TLC areas, I could teach them more about how to be a healthy and happy individual.

One part of the TED Talk video that was somewhat confusing, was his “hack schooling” program. I understand in general what he did for his schooling, but he didn’t go too far into detail about each of the four categories. Something I wish he would have clarified more.

Both the article and the Ted Talk mentioned hacking. Before watching and reading both, my only definition of hackers was the individuals who hack into computer software and such. I never had thought of hacking in terms of everyday life. I also had never thought of hacking as a good thing. Something that is needed to help improve and better the task or subject being manipulated. With my new found knowledge of hacking, I want to be able to hack and improve the things I do in my life as well. Then, I can pass that same information on to my students who can in turn hack their life in a positive manner.

l
Photo CC- By Embajada de los Estados Unidos en Uruguay
4 Comments

  1. Cory,
    Thank you for listing the eight parts that make up a happy and healthy lifestyle. Those are great to remember and strive to improve in daily life. That will be great to have a health and physical educator begin teaching many of those parts to becoming happy and healthy. Many times some of those get overlooked. Like you, I didn’t think of hacking as a good thing, but now I think that hacking is a good thing. Great post!

    Like

  2. “If a student is happy, they are more likely to take care of themselves. If they are unhappy, they aren’t going to want to be healthy or want to do anything. When individuals fall into depression, their bodies can quickly suffer.” Spot on!! It’s also important for teachers to realize that, in some cases, teachers spend more time with an individual child than the child’s own parents do. So noticing sincere depression could very well be a life-saving skill. Good thoughts here!

    Like

Leave a Reply

