Advocating Online

Activist have taken a wide range of platforms over the years. From the traditional forms like picketing and protesting to this newly arrived digital advocating. With how digitally advanced our society has become over the last twenty years, it comes as no surprise that activists were quick to jump on board and use this resource to further spread their beliefs. Now, with this newest generation growing up in a completely digital world, they are developing into largely digital activist.

These kids that are becoming engaged in being public activism are using online resources like social media to help generate more support for their cause. Many of these kids use social media sites likes Twitter to help people who are actual need of support. They lend a helping hand to people who have fallen to some low levels. Take this activist named Eduardo, he started a Twitter domain that he uses to help prevent bullying and to help others who are being bullied. It is wonderful to see young kids like Eduardo take such initiative in helping a peer out. Many of these peers he has never seen or meet before. Eduardo is merely the tip of the iceberg. There are so many other young kids out there that care and want to make a difference in the world. We should look at this with hopeful eyes, for it shows us that this new generation can shine some light on all the hate and darkness in the world and can give us all a little hope for a decent and promising future.

I hope that this generation can continue to have the same effect as they are currently having using online tools and resources to reach out to the unreached. Social media can be an extremely effective tool in advocating for particular causes. Not only is it effective, but it is fast and cheap. No paper, magazine, or book can reach the sheer volume of readers that social media can. It can do this all at no cost to the publisher. Where as if they activist paid a magazine to publish the same material, it could potential cost the young activist a large sum of money. Money that could possibly be used for their particular cause.

With all this good that is come with activists using the internet and social media, there is a downside to it all. Hitting the sheer volume of readers that they receive through social media, there are backlashes to their posts and claims. Backlashes that can be extremely threatening, especially to young activist who don’t really know what kind of hateful people can be out there. That is the major downside to using social media, because these “trolls” wait out there to find victims to send hateful messages regarding their beliefs.

As a future teacher I found all this very fascinating. I got several good ideas on how I could help stimulate future children to find their passion and help advocate for it and become passionate activists in the process. In doing so, I came up with a difficult question that I hope someone may help me with. If I am helping my students become more engaged in being activists, who do I properly inform them of how to safely do it? For, I myself have not been a public activist of anything in my life, so I don’t really know where to begin in teaching it to students (even though I think it could be a great series of lessons to teach on).

Here are a view websites that I used in my research and they are great resources to use!

http://www.meta-activism.org/2012/02/digital-activism-101-the-5-activist-functions-of-technology/

http://www.teenvogue.com/story/teen-online-activism

http://www.smartbrief.com/original/2013/03/my-kids-cause-and-our-classroom-blog

http://shortyawards.com/category/6th/teenactivism

2 Comments

  1. I like how you compare the cost of digital activism versus the cost of real-life activism. This is something I hadn’t really considered. With all of the information available online, do you feel that learning how to teach safety and responsibility in digital activism is something you will spend time researching in the future?

    Like

  2. I definitely think it will be something that I continue to research as time passes. If I want to be able to give the necessary information and safety tips to my students, I must first be knowledgeable in the area!

    Like

Leave a Reply

