Rethinking Education

This semester has brought a lot of new and interesting information to my door steps. I think the biggest concept that has come to me is that I shouldn’t simply accept the old-status-quo for my learning or my teaching career.

With that, I think I have learned to become more innovative with my personal learning. In that, I have learned to use resources far and wide to help accomplish tasks that I never would have previously attempted. I personally think that innovative learning is something where people learn to use any and all tools and resources to accomplish new and difficult tasks. Tasks that cause individuals to use critical thinking, which in turns helps stimulate a deep level of learning. As educators we should strive to get that deeper level of thinking and learning. At the beginning and end of each day we should ask ourselves as educators a question George Couros posed, “What is best for learners”. If we do so, we will continue to innovate our classrooms to better fit each individual student. Also in doing so, it will help create a better learning environment that helps promotes individuality through new and unique learning methods. Educators need to realize that they will always be learners and that they need to continue to develop new innovative ways to help stimulate their students’ learning process.

I would say one thing that I have unlearned this semester is that it doesn’t necessarily matter what your grade is for that particular assignment or even class, but the amount of information and skills you have learned and obtained. I must say though, this is still in the works, for at times I still find myself slipping back into the mindset of worrying more about grades and less about the actually information. I think I need to as Will Richardson puts it, “We need to unlearn the premise that we know more than our kids, because in many cases, they can now be our teachers as well”. I would greatly encourage anyone to read The Steep Unlearning Curve: 10 Things We Need to Unlearn. It lists a number of things that we have put too much emphasis on (like grades) and lost sight of the true purpose of getting an education (which is actually learning).

6165842051_feef951b3a_o
Photo CC- by ransomtech

I found this week’s list of articles very intriguing! Before this week, I had never really put any thought into how “effective” our educational system is and how there are things that we should really consider “unlearning” in order to become a more effective educator.

Here are the articles that I mentioned, all great reads!

4 Comments

  1. I think the unlearning is an interesting concept that needs to take place. I understand we probably can’t get away with unlearning all of these but some would be nice. I hope that I can unlearn some of these steps in my future classroom. I have a feeling the problem will be how to do so.

    Like

  2. This was a very insightful post. Do you think you will try to incorporate some of Couros’ and Richardson’s ideas into your own classroom? For me it comes down to what the public school system will allow for now. For instance, I know in Nebraska’s public school system teachers must report grades & give students tests to measure objectives.

    Like

    1. I think I will you some, maybe not all of them in my classroom. As for measuring objectives, there are plenty of other ways you can measure your students with out assigning grades. It’s just finding what the state will allow you to do.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

